Mystery Illness – My Old Notes

I have a really old laptop, you know, the ones that could be easily mistaken for a TV …. it’s huge! It doesn’t really work all that well .. so my husband and I just put it away and haven’t used it in 3 years.

I’ll get back to the computer story here in a minute, but I started a new herb two weeks ago and at only one drop it has been making me feel pretty icky. I haven’t left the house much lately because of my health and because we have been having glorious weather (by glorious I mean never ending snow) here in MN. Any folks down south want to take in a sick gal? my achy body needs warm weather!!!

But, I digress, let’s get back to the story …

I have been on a looking through old photos kick lately and decided to take my old laptop out and look through some of the old photos that are in it, as I was doing that I stumbled upon a file called Mystery Illness and I thought to myself “NO WAY”!! When my symptoms began 3 years ago, my primary then didn’t know what was going on with me, so I decided to type out dates, what I was doing then and what my symptoms were for him so he could help me figure what was going on with me. I thought I deleted the file years ago but apparently I didn’t!!

{Sigh} It brought back so many emotions … I remember where I was sitting when I was typing it, I remember the anxiety and the frustration, I remember my arms feeling so weak while my fingers tapped on the keyboard and tears of sadness and desperation silently rolled down my cheeks.

Here it is, copied from my old computer (I did remove the doctors names that were caring for me at that time):

September: Went to the ER for Severe lower left abdominal pain, diarrhea and nausea. Doctor diagnosed me with an Enterovirus.

Oct. 8: Went camping.

Oct. 12-13: Went to cabin.

Oct. 14: Went to Duluth – Woke up around 3:00am with upper left abdominal pain and nausea.

Oct. 15: Duluth – Woke up around 3:30am with excruciating upper left abdominal pain and nausea. I made myself vomit and the stomach pain went away.

Oct. 16: Felt sick and weak all day.

Oct. 17: I called to make an appointment for my stomach pain, but they insisted I go to urgent care/ER.

* Made a follow up that week with Dr. and she prescribed me medication for GERD.

* Symptoms did not get any better. On and off dizziness.

Oct. 29: Felt very sick all day. Stomach pain, nausea and headaches.

Oct. 30: Felt the same as the day before.

Oct. 31: Woke up with severe pressure in my head. Did not get any better after taking Ibuprofen or extra strength Tylenol.

* Went to Dr. that week and mentioned the pressure in my head. She looked in my ears and said I had fluid buildup in my ears and later prescribed me Tramadol.

* The following week, I was riding in the car with my husband one night and I noticed the street lights hurt my eyes so bad I had to put my head down.

* That same week, I was watching TV one night and I felt an odd sensation in my head, almost like a crawling feeling. It was very uncomfortable and weird.

* Made an appointment with Dr. that following week and he noticed my sinuses were very clogged. He prescribed me steroids and over the counter medication.

* Started steroids that Friday and felt instant relief with the pressure in my head.

* Saturday night – Right when I was about to lay my head down, I felt as if my scalp was burning. Since then, it has been painful to sleep on the left side of my head and on my back. Also, the left side of my scalp has been very sensitive to touch.

Symptoms:

Headaches – the pain varies from spot to spot. At time, pressure in my temples. Shooting pain on the left side of my head and the back left side of my head. Sometimes pain behind both ears.

Extreme nausea.

Some abdominal pain but not severe like it used to be.

Cooling/pain sensation on my left temple and left side of my neck.

Shooting pain in my spine.

Odd sensation back of the head and shoulders.

On and off twitching in my left eye, and left side of my lip.

Tingling and odd sensation in my left arm and left leg. (I noticed while carrying plates at my work, my left hand felt weak. It was hard for me to carry three plates at once, and I had been doing that just fine for the past year)

Pain in my left eye at times.

Pain in left jaw at times.

Tingling in my left cheek at times.

Very fatigued (towards the end of the night, I am very very tired. I almost feel like I am drunk)

* Something that has been really bothering me, and it might sound stupid but normally I am a very good speller, however, lately I noticed it takes me a little while longer to figure out how to spell a simple word.

I hate to mention I went camping (never sprayed any tick repellent or anything) in August of that year as well (a month before my symptoms started).

After I gave my Dr. these notes, he ran an ELISA test and sure enough a positive babesia (ding ding ding), but I was only treated for one week and then 50 more symptoms showed up after that!! I completely forgot I had some of these symptoms, so It is a good reminder to look back and see what has improved and what hasn’t!! This made me want to write down my current symptoms so I can look back a year or so from now and see what has improved and what hasn’t!!

Blessings & Love,

Aisha 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mystery Illness – My Old Notes

Leave a Reply

